NinjaTrader vs Tradovate: One Brokerage, Different Platforms
NinjaTrader and Tradovate are trade names of one futures brokerage with different platforms. Compare desktop, web, and mobile features using vendor pages verified September 19, 2026.
NinjaTrader and Tradovate are not two independent competing brokers. The official disclosure describes a group of affiliated companies under NinjaTrader Group, LLC. NinjaTrader, LLC develops and supports the NinjaTrader platform software, while NinjaTrader Clearing, LLC, a CFTC-registered futures commission merchant, provides the brokerage services and does business under several names, including NinjaTrader and Tradovate.12 In plain terms: one affiliated company writes the NinjaTrader software, and the brokerage behind both brand names is the same. Both brands publish the same base commission plans, and NinjaTrader states that a Tradovate login unlocks its Desktop, Web, and Mobile platforms.2
That shared brokerage does not make every account identical. A third-party broker connection, a prop-firm account, or a legacy setup can carry different platform access, data, and fee terms, so confirm yours with whoever administers the account. What remains is which platform you place orders from: NinjaTrader Desktop (Windows only, with NinjaScript and advanced backtesting listed), NinjaTrader Web, or Tradovate’s platform on Windows, Mac, browser, and mobile.
This article compares those platforms using vendor pages read on September 18 and 19, 2026 (see Sources for per-page dates). It is not hands-on testing: it does not measure order speed, latency, slippage, fills, or reliability for either brand, and it does not rank them. The page contains no affiliate links. Vendor pages describe what a vendor says its software does and can change without notice, so confirm anything load-bearing before funding an account. For commissions, account minimums, and break-even math between plans, use the futures broker comparison; for a wider look across brands, see the best futures trading platform guide.
Quick answer: which one should you try first?
- Windows PC, and you need NinjaScript, custom indicators, automated strategies, or advanced backtesting: among the platforms compared here, the reviewed official pages explicitly list these only for NinjaTrader Desktop, and list them as not available on NinjaTrader Web.34 The reviewed Tradovate pages list TradingView and Jigsaw integrations rather than a native equivalent, which describes those pages, not the wider ecosystem; NinjaTrader also names TradingView as a supported third-party tool.56
- Mac, or no software installs: NinjaTrader Web runs in Chrome, Edge, or Safari on Windows and Mac with no installation, and Tradovate lists downloads for Windows and Mac plus browser access.45 NinjaTrader Desktop is listed as Windows only.3
- A depth-of-market ladder with bracket-style exits as your main workflow: both vendors describe one. NinjaTrader lists SuperDOM on Desktop and mobile; Tradovate lists a DOM with one-click entry and bracket orders set by ticks, price, or currency.375 The sources do not establish which implementation is better, so test your exact ticket in simulation.
- You use TradingView: both brands advertise it, so it does not separate them. NinjaTrader’s and Tradovate’s pricing pages each name TradingView as a supported third-party tool, and TradingView lists both as supported brokers.68910 What matters is your setup: which account and broker connection you use, whether the integration is enabled on it (NinjaTrader’s TradingView support page points to granting access under Plans in the account dashboard), any add-on or plan requirement, your market-data entitlements, and whether the order actions you need work from TradingView.11 Tradovate’s integrations page says premium partners work with any pricing plan with no order-routing fees,12 and its TradingView guide (updated July 22, 2026) says funded brokerage accounts on its newer plans include TradingView access, live use also needs an active Tradovate market-data subscription, and accounts on older pricing structures or prop firms are handled differently.13 That does not make the whole workflow free, and the reviewed NinjaTrader pages state no comparable TradingView terms, so confirm both for your account.
- You manage positions on a phone: both brands publish mobile apps, and NinjaTrader states mobile access is included with every funded account at no additional fee.78 Neither page establishes desktop parity, so check that your actual phone app supports the order types and account permissions you need.
Shared login is not the same as shared entitlements. NinjaTrader’s login page says: “Your Tradovate login now unlocks all NinjaTrader platforms across desktop, web, and mobile,” with no new account or approvals.2 Tradovate’s pricing page says every plan includes access to NinjaTrader Desktop, Web, and Mobile,8 and its help center documents the Desktop route for a Tradovate brokerage account: sign in with your Tradovate username and password, or add a Tradovate connection in Multi-Provider Mode.14 NinjaTrader’s account FAQ scopes this from the other side: Web and Mobile are for NinjaTrader Brokerage account holders, while third-party brokerage connections continue to use Desktop.15 Prop-firm accounts are a separate technology arrangement: NinjaTrader’s prop guide says Rithmic-based firms connect through the Rithmic connection in NinjaTrader Desktop, Tradovate-based credentials log in through Web, Mobile, or other supported platforms, and connection details vary by firm, while its Web evaluation-setup guide describes the prop login as usable across Desktop, Web, and Mobile.1617 Ask your firm which applies to you. None of these pages promises that a login carries every market-data subscription, integration, or add-on.
What is actually the same
- The brokerage. NinjaTrader and Tradovate are both trade names used by NinjaTrader Clearing, LLC, and Tradovate’s homepage calls the relationship “one login, two platforms.”1
- The published base commission plans, not the total cost. Both sites list a Free plan at $0.39 (micro) and $1.29 (standard) per side, a $99-per-month plan at $0.29 and $0.99, and a $1,499 Lifetime plan at $0.09 and $0.59, with exchange, clearing, and NFA fees stated as additional.68 NinjaTrader’s fee page also lists conditional charges, including third-party technology charges, a per-contract SuperDOM license fee listed for Desktop, and an inactivity fee for Free-plan accounts that log in without trading live.18 Whether they apply depends on account plan and setup, so matching base plans do not guarantee identical total costs. See the full cost comparison for how the rates interact with your volume.
What differs: the platforms
The table lists what each vendor’s own pages state. “Not stated” means the reviewed page did not say, not that the feature is unavailable.
| Question | NinjaTrader | Tradovate |
|---|---|---|
| Where does it run? | Desktop: Windows PC only. Web: modern browsers on Windows or Mac, no installation. Mobile: iPhone and Android.347 | Downloads for Windows and Mac, browser log-in, and iPad, iPhone, and Android apps.5 |
| Strategy development and integrations | Desktop lists NinjaScript (a C#-based framework for custom indicators, strategies, and apps), advanced backtesting, and thousands of third-party apps and add-ons. NinjaTrader separately advertises TradingView as a supported third-party integration; access and entitlements depend on the relevant brokerage account. Web is listed without strategy development, NinjaScript, advanced backtesting, or ecosystem tools.3461113 | Native strategy development not stated on the reviewed pages. Lists TradingView and Jigsaw integrations.512 |
| Depth of market and order entry | SuperDOM listed on Desktop and mobile. Web lists market, limit, stop-loss, and OCO orders. Desktop lists Advanced Trade Management (stop orders, target orders, self-tightening trailing stops).347 | DOM with one-click entry and OCO bracket orders set by ticks, price, or currency, multiple brackets up to 10 target and stop levels, plus trailing stop and trailing stop-limit orders.5 |
| Charting | Desktop lists multi-monitor support and full customization. Web lists customizable charts, multiple timeframes, and popular indicators. Mobile lists advanced charting.347 | Tick, minute, hour, daily, volume, range, and custom timeframes; Heiken Ashi, Renko, and Point and Figure types; TPO profile charts.5 |
| Mobile | App Store and Google Play; lists placing, modifying, and managing futures orders from charts. Included with every funded account at no additional fee.7 | iPad, iPhone, and Android apps listed; order-management scope not detailed on the reviewed pages.15 |
All entries reflect vendor pages read on September 18 and 19, 2026 (see Sources for per-page dates). Feature lists and platform names change; re-check the vendor pages before relying on a specific row.
Two reading notes. First, NinjaTrader’s overview page and its mobile page give different indicator counts, so this comparison does not compare indicator counts at all. Second, NinjaTrader Desktop’s system-requirements page lists 64-bit Windows and does not mention macOS,19 so a Mac trader who wants Desktop-only features should confirm the current support position with NinjaTrader instead of assuming a workaround.
Simulation, live data, and replay are four separate questions
Both vendors offer simulation and replay, but the pages do not describe them identically, so treat them separately.
- A simulated trading environment. Both list free simulated trading.68 NinjaTrader states no time limit and no funding required. Tradovate’s platform page describes unlimited simulation with a live funded account and a two-week free trial with live streaming data, so terms for an unfunded account are not stated the same way.65
- Live streaming market data. NinjaTrader lists a 14-day trial of streaming live data at account opening and says funding a live account unlocks real-time data. Tradovate lists top-of-book market data with an approved and funded account.68 NinjaTrader’s fee page lists exchange data fees separately.18
- Replay functionality. Both list Market Replay, but the implementations are described differently. NinjaTrader Desktop’s Playback replays recorded or downloaded Market Replay or historical tick data, and its help guide says tick data without level II depth is less accurate.20 Tradovate markets streaming replay without downloads, at up to 4x speed, with full depth of market.5
- Historical data coverage and entitlement. NinjaTrader’s pricing page lists Market Replay among the benefits unlocked by funding a live account.6 The reviewed Tradovate pages list replay without stating the same condition, which is not evidence that none applies. None of the reviewed pages establishes replay coverage by date or instrument, so confirm coverage, plan, account, and data-subscription terms for the market you trade.
Match the platform to a decision you made in advance
Platform choice is a process decision, not only a software preference. This is an evaluation checklist, not evidence that any platform improves discipline; this comparison does not test that.
- Stop and target before entry. Can your stop and target be attached to the entry, on one ticket, in the interface you will use? Place a full bracket or OCO exit in simulation. Tradovate documents brackets set by ticks, price, or currency, and NinjaTrader documents OCO on Web and Advanced Trade Management on Desktop; confirm which one your ticket uses.
- Order types per interface. List the order types your plan needs, such as trailing stops or OCO, and check each in every interface you will use. Support can differ between NinjaTrader Desktop, NinjaTrader Web, and a phone app.
- NinjaScript or third-party charting. If your plan requires NinjaScript, the reviewed pages point to NinjaTrader Desktop on Windows. If it requires TradingView charts, both brands advertise a connection, so confirm it for your specific account: whether it is enabled, any add-on or plan requirement, market-data entitlements, and whether the order actions you need work from TradingView. For example, Tradovate’s TradingView guide says OCO orders cannot be applied to an open position from TradingView and brackets attach only to entry orders placed from its Order Panel.13 Automation shifts review from entries to the rules that generated them, and no platform validates whether a strategy has an edge.
- Phone actions. List the trade-management actions you would take on mobile, such as moving a stop, cancelling, or closing a position, and test each on the actual app. Decide in advance whether managing open positions from a phone is allowed by your process, because the software will not decide that for you.
- Simulation and replay coverage. Check that simulation and replay cover your instruments, sessions, and data depth, then run a full session of your actual plan, including the stop, the target, and how you would size down. Simulated execution is not evidence of live fills, slippage, profitability, or strategy validity.
- One primary platform per session. Choose your intended primary interface before the session, and verify any cross-platform order-management workflow you intend to use, such as managing the same account from Desktop, Web, or a phone. This is a workflow suggestion, not a tested intervention.
Limits of this comparison
- Prop-firm, third-party broker, and other intermediary accounts can carry different platform access, fees, and data terms than a direct account. Beyond the connection guides cited above, this article did not verify those arrangements.
- The reviewed pages did not establish total account cost beyond the base commissions (including market-data subscriptions), TradingView’s own plan terms, NinjaTrader’s terms for its TradingView connection, replay coverage, or mobile order-management parity.
- Nothing here establishes which platform is faster, more stable, or better for a particular strategy. Test in simulation with your real order structure.
Where Costante fits — and where it does not
Costante is not a broker or a trading platform, and it does not connect to NinjaTrader, Tradovate, or any other broker or exchange. It does not route orders, block trades, or enforce platform-side limits, and it does not decide which platform you should use. It also does not validate strategies or compare execution quality.
Once you have chosen a platform, Costante supports the behavioral layer around it: planning a session before it starts, checking an intended entry against your written plan before you decide, keeping your own guardrails visible during execution, logging trades with low friction, and reviewing the session against your plan afterward. Those guardrails operate inside Costante and do not control a broker or prevent a trade. Because you log decisions yourself, the review does not depend on which platform placed the orders. For the broader decision process around a platform choice, see trading decision-making; for the review side once you are trading, see how to evaluate broker execution quality.
Frequently asked questions
Are NinjaTrader and Tradovate the same company?
Not exactly. Both names are used by one futures brokerage, NinjaTrader Clearing, LLC. NinjaTrader, LLC is an affiliated software-development company that owns and supports the NinjaTrader platform, and both sit within the NinjaTrader Group, LLC family of affiliated companies.12 They ship different platforms, and account terms can still differ for third-party broker connections and prop-firm accounts.
Can I use one login for NinjaTrader and Tradovate?
NinjaTrader states that a Tradovate login unlocks NinjaTrader Desktop, Web, and Mobile, and Tradovate’s pricing page says every plan includes access to all three.28 Tradovate’s help center documents signing in to NinjaTrader Desktop with Tradovate credentials.14 That is login eligibility, not a guarantee of every market-data subscription, add-on, or integration. NinjaTrader’s FAQ says Web and Mobile are for NinjaTrader Brokerage account holders, and third-party brokerage connections continue to use Desktop.15 For prop-firm accounts, the connection depends on the firm: NinjaTrader’s guide describes Rithmic-based firms connecting through Desktop and Tradovate-based credentials logging in through Web, Mobile, or other supported platforms.16
Is NinjaTrader or Tradovate cheaper?
The published base commission plans match on both sites: Free, $99 per month, and $1,499 Lifetime, with per-side rates that fall as the plan price rises.68 Total cost also depends on exchange, clearing, and NFA fees, market-data subscriptions, and conditional charges listed on NinjaTrader’s fee page, so matching base plans do not guarantee identical totals.18 The futures broker comparison shows how to compute the break-even.
Can I use NinjaTrader Desktop on a Mac?
NinjaTrader lists Desktop as Windows PC only.3 It lists NinjaTrader Web as compatible with Windows and Mac browsers, and Tradovate lists downloads and browser access for Mac.45 If you need a Desktop-only feature on a Mac, ask NinjaTrader what it currently supports rather than relying on an assumption.
Can I run automated strategies?
Among the platforms compared here, NinjaTrader’s official pages explicitly list NinjaScript custom development and advanced backtesting on Desktop, and list strategy development and NinjaScript as unavailable on its web version.34 The reviewed Tradovate pages did not state a native equivalent and instead list third-party integrations such as TradingView and Jigsaw.5 Automated logic remains your responsibility to test and review.
Does the platform I choose affect my trading discipline?
This comparison does not establish that. A platform can make an order structure easier or harder to express, but sticking to your rules under pressure is a separate problem. What you control is deciding your order structure and platform before the session, and reviewing afterward whether you followed them.
Costante provides educational workflow tools, not financial advice. Trading involves risk.
Sources
Footnotes
-
Tradovate. Homepage. Footer disclosure describes NinjaTrader as a group of affiliated companies under NinjaTrader Group, LLC; states NinjaTrader, LLC owns and supports the NinjaTrader platform as a software development company and NinjaTrader Clearing, LLC d/b/a NinjaTrader, Kraken Derivatives US, and Tradovate provides brokerage services as a CFTC-registered futures commission merchant and NFA member. Also lists downloads for Mac and PC, an iPad app, and Android and iPhone apps, and “one login, two platforms.” Accessed September 18, 2026; re-verified September 19, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
NinjaTrader. Tradovate to NinjaTrader login. States that a Tradovate login unlocks all NinjaTrader platforms across desktop, web, and mobile, that both platforms operate on a shared brokerage and technology foundation, and that no new account or approvals are needed; its footer names NinjaTrader Group, LLC, NinjaTrader, LLC, and NinjaTrader Clearing, LLC d/b/a NinjaTrader, Kraken Derivatives US, and Tradovate, and directs brokerage-account questions to your broker. Accessed September 18, 2026; re-verified September 19, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
NinjaTrader. Trading platform overview. Describes Desktop as Windows only with multi-monitor support, thousands of apps and add-ons, NinjaScript custom development, and SuperDOM; lists stop orders, target orders, and self-tightening trailing stops; describes Web as any PC or Mac browser and Mobile for iPhone and Android. Accessed September 18, 2026; re-verified September 19, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9
-
NinjaTrader. Web platform. States compatibility with modern browsers on Windows and Mac (Chrome, Edge, or Safari), no installation, customizable charts, market, limit, stop-loss, and OCO orders, and that strategy development, NinjaScript, advanced backtesting, and ecosystem tools are desktop advantages not available on the web version. Accessed September 18, 2026; re-verified September 19, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8
-
Tradovate. Platform. Describes downloads for Windows and Mac, browser log-in, and iPad, iPhone, and Android apps; a DOM with one-click entry and OCO bracket orders (up to 10 target and stop levels); trailing stop and trailing stop-limit orders; chart timeframes, chart types, and TPO profile charts; streaming market replay at up to 4x speed with full depth; a two-week free trial with live streaming data and unlimited simulation with a live funded account; and TradingView and Jigsaw integrations with synchronized balances, positions, and orders. Accessed September 18, 2026; re-verified September 19, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12
-
NinjaTrader. Pricing and platform overview. Lists Free, $99 monthly, and $1,499 Lifetime plans with per-side commissions; states exchange, clearing, and NFA fees apply; lists free simulated trading with no time limit and no funding required; lists Market Replay and real-time market data among benefits unlocked by funding a live account; lists a free 14-day trial of streaming live data at account opening; names TradingView as an example of third-party trading tools you can connect. Accessed September 18, 2026; re-verified September 19, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9
-
NinjaTrader. Mobile app. States availability on the Apple App Store and Google Play; describes placing, modifying, and managing futures orders from charts, an improved SuperDOM, and advanced charting; states mobile access is included with every funded account at no additional fee. Accessed September 18, 2026; re-verified September 19, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6
-
Tradovate. Pricing. Lists Free, $99 monthly, and $1,499 Lifetime plans (or four installments of $499) and their per-side commissions; states all plans include access to NinjaTrader Desktop, Web, and Mobile, free simulated trading, Market Replay, and top-of-book market data with an approved and funded account; mentions third-party tools such as TradingView without listing a price; states exchange, clearing, and NFA fees apply. Accessed September 18, 2026; re-verified September 19, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8
-
TradingView. NinjaTrader broker profile. Lists NinjaTrader as a broker supported on TradingView for futures trading. Accessed September 19, 2026. ↩
-
TradingView. Tradovate broker profile. Lists Tradovate as a broker supported on TradingView. Accessed September 19, 2026. ↩
-
TradingView. Support: “TradingView has not been entitled to access your account” error for a NinjaTrader account. Describes granting TradingView permission from the NinjaTrader Account Dashboard (User Profile > Settings > Plans tab). States no cost or subscription terms. Accessed September 19, 2026. ↩ ↩2
-
Tradovate. Add-on and integration tools. Lists TradingView among Premium Integration Partners; states premium partners include a full Tradovate integration synchronizing accounts and orders, that partner tools can be used with any Tradovate pricing plan, and that there are no order routing fees for Premium Partners; lists no prices and makes no statement about TradingView subscription or market-data costs. Accessed September 19, 2026. ↩ ↩2
-
Tradovate Help Center. TradingView Connection Guide - Tradovate. Article shown as updated 7/22/2026. States that funded Tradovate brokerage accounts receive complimentary access to TradingView, Market Replay, Order Flow+, and Level I CME Group and EUREX data; that live TradingView access requires a TradingView add-on or a newer account plan that includes it, an active live Tradovate market-data subscription, and a funded account; that accounts on older pricing structures and unfunded demo connections are handled through a standalone add-on; that prop-firm TradingView access is managed by the firm; and lists TradingView order limitations (OCO on open positions, bracket placement). Standalone add-on pricing shown there applies only to accounts not on the newer structure and is not reproduced here. Read on September 19, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
Tradovate Help Center. Using NinjaTrader Desktop with a Tradovate Account. Article shown as updated 6/22/2026. Describes logging in to the NinjaTrader Dashboard with Tradovate credentials to download Desktop, signing in to Desktop with a Tradovate username and password to trade Live or Simulated, and, for Desktop installs in Multi-Provider Mode, creating a NinjaTrader-type connection through Connections > Configure. Does not address third-party brokers or prop-firm accounts. Read on September 19, 2026. ↩ ↩2
-
NinjaTrader. Account FAQs. States that NinjaTrader Web and Mobile are available to NinjaTrader Brokerage account holders and that traders using third-party brokerage connections can continue to use NinjaTrader Desktop. Does not address Tradovate logins. Accessed September 19, 2026. ↩ ↩2
-
NinjaTrader Prop. Connect NinjaTrader to your prop firm. Says most prop firms standardize on Rithmic and that a Rithmic-based firm is connected through NinjaTrader Desktop using a Rithmic connection; lists Tradovate-based credentials as logging in via Web, Mobile, or supported platforms; states connection details can vary between firms and providers. Accessed September 19, 2026. ↩ ↩2
-
NinjaTrader Prop. Evaluation account setup. Says prop firm credentials are the NinjaTrader Web login and the same login used across NinjaTrader Desktop, Web, and Mobile, and that NinjaTrader Web connects through a single built-in NinjaTrader/Tradovate account link; does not distinguish credential types and does not state that it covers every prop firm. Accessed September 19, 2026. ↩
-
NinjaTrader. Account and exchange fees. Lists conditional technology charges (a per-contract SuperDOM static license fee described as Desktop-only, and third-party integration charges), an inactivity fee for Free-plan accounts that log in without live trades within the stated period, clearing, routing, and exchange data fees. Accessed September 19, 2026. ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
NinjaTrader. Minimum system requirements (NinjaTrader 8 help guide). Lists 64-bit Windows operating systems; does not mention macOS. The address redirects to a NinjaTrader help-guide host. Accessed September 18, 2026; re-verified September 19, 2026. ↩
-
NinjaTrader. Playback (NinjaTrader 8 help guide). Describes replaying Market Replay data or historical tick data once recorded or downloaded, states Market Replay data includes level I and level II data and that historical tick data is less accurate without level II. States no entitlement terms. The address redirects to a NinjaTrader help-guide host. Accessed September 19, 2026. ↩